McLaurin Memorial

News & Announcements

Upcoming Dates:

  • Sunday,  May 22: 12:00 noon – Church Potluck Lunch

  • Friday, May 27: 7:00 p.m. – Walking Tour of Historical Downtown Edmonton (organized by Keith Harcus – kgharcus@hotmail.com)

  • Sunday, May 29: 10:30 a.m.— Lunch for anyone interested in the Christian Faith, Believer’s Baptism, and/or Membership after worship.

  • Monday–Friday, May 30–June 1: 5:30–7:30 p.m.—Try Praying Community Outreach

  • Sunday, June 5: 12: 00 noon—Lunch for anyone interested in the Christian Faith, Believer’s Baptism, and/or Membership.

  • Friday, June 10: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting

  • Sunday, June 26: 6: 30 p.m—Year-End Congregational Meeting.

  • Sunday, June 29: 10: 30 a.m—Father’s Day Worship with luncheon to follow.

  • Friday, July 8: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting.

  • Sunday, July 17: 10: 30 a.m—Matt Cline will be sharing during worship.

  • Missions Month: July 17, 24, 31 & August 7—we will be having a special focus on our mission endeavours on these Sundays. 

  • Monday–Friday, July 25–29: 1:00–4:00 p.m.—Vacation Bible School

  • Friday, August 12: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting

  • Tuesday, August 16: 10: 00 a.m—Sadie Beggs Memorial Service

  • Friday, September 9: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting

  • Friday, October 14: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting

  • Friday, November 11: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting

  • Friday, December 9: 7: 00 p.m—Church Family Prayer Meeting 

New Youth Director –
Takudzwa Lavin (la-VIN) Nyariri

We are pleased to announce the hiring of Takudzwa “Lavin” Nyariri as the part time Youth Director at McLaurin Memorial Baptist Church effective February 20, 2022. This is exciting news for the future of the church’s Youth Ministry. It is our belief that God is greatly at work, and we eagerly anticipate the future He has in store for our youth. Pray with us that He will lead Lavin as she joins us in the adventure of growing and discipling our youth.

Lavin has completed the Social Work diploma program from Grant MacEwan University and is currently closing in on the completion of her Sociology degree with The King’s University. She has years of experience dealing with a wide range of social issues from homelessness, giving assistance with income support applications, helping those with addictions, working on community development projects, and leading various groups. She currently works with the inner-city ministry of The Mustard Seed Street Church as a frontline worker. Lavin has previously been the President of the Youth Fellowship at Edmonton’s United Methodist Church where she provided leadership for the youth between the ages of 13 and 30.

Lavin is married to Munyaradzi “Lewis” Nyariri and they have a son, Jayden Mudiwa Nyariri, who was born in September 2020.

Lavin was inducted into our youth ministry on March 13, 2022.